The Electric Eels – Agitated

electric eelsThis record, if I am not mistaken is from Cleveland, Ohio in the mid 70’s. It is fucking crazy. It rocks out with energy, and it is also a wicked rant about feeling pent up with energy. “Agitated” finds the vocalist in a state of existential angst

You know what I think? / I think the whole world stinks / And I don’t need no shrink / I just take it

But the best part of this record which is barely 2 minutes long, is the vocalist’s second verse which he starts off with a groan that sounds like he is authentically disgusted with the idea of being alive.

Sometimes I think, I’d be better off dead/ just like my cousin Fred

Some might call this record proto-punk, but I think it is more like a blues. A southern swampy blues with a maniacal performer crawling about the dancefloor. Ha ha ha.

File under: Universal Human Themes, Primitive Early 70’s US Midwest Punk

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

